Something went wrong with the connection!

Manufacturing & Supply Chain

Winners of the Irish Planning Awards 2020

 Breaking News

Winners of the Irish Planning Awards 2020

Winners of the Irish Planning Awards 2020
March 03
09:36 2020
Spread the love

The Irish Planning Institute (IPI) has announced the winners of the 2020 Planning Awards. Limerick City and County Council’s ‘Living Georgian City Strategy’ project was declared winner of the overall award for excellence in planning in Ireland at the Institute’s biennial awards gala dinner. The project also received an award in the ‘Management and Delivery’ category.

The IPI awards acknowledge a diverse range of projects and plans nationally taking place at a local, county and regional level in complex and dynamic environments. The Awards this year recognised innovation and excellence in Irish planning in eight categories with one specific project and one specific employer merited special recognition on the night.

Speaking at the awards, IPI President Dr Conor Norton said: “The IPI Planning Awards celebrate success in planning and the 2020 awards saw an increase in both the quantity and quality of projects considered. We introduced X new categories to the awards this year to afford organisations the opportunity to display a greater diversity of projects.”

The eight category winners were:

  • Plan Making – Eastern Midlands Regional Assembly (Regional Spatial and Economic Strategy)
  • Participation and Engagement – Laois County Council and Avison Young (Portlaoise 2040 and beyond)
  • Design (public sector) – Galway City Council with Allies and Morrison (Galway Public Realm Strategy)
  • Design (private sector) – Ballymore (Dublin Landings Project)
  • Planning and Economic Development Award –  Cork County Council and Research & Dig  (Muscrai Heritage Plan)
  • Management and Delivery – Limerick City & County Council (Living Georgian City Project)
  • Planning Workplace of the Year – Dublin City Council
  • Climate Change –   McCutcheon Halley (Lidl Ireland Rooftop Solar Installation).

The immediate past president of the IPI, Joe Corr selected An Bord Pleanála for the President’s Award, in recognition of their support for the Institute in the roll out and delivery of CPD to Planners and Elected Members. He also acknowledged the role of IPI Members in An Bord Pleanála who volunteer their time to serve on IPI Committees and Councils.

Special commendation was also awarded to Donegal County Council for their Church Lane Heritage Regeneration Project.

“I am delighted to celebrate outstanding examples of planning from across Ireland and would like to congratulate all of those involved in both the shortlisted and winning projects on their significant contribution to the profession,” Dr Norton added.


Pictured (L-R): Vincent Murray, Rosie Webb, Sarah Newell and Mayor of the City and County of Limerick Councillor Michael Sheahan with Dr Conor Norton and Eoghan Murphy TD.

About Author



Related Articles



New Subscriber

    Subscribe Here


    National Manufacturing Conference & Exhibition 2020

    NIBRT Springboard Success Stories